Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 14,732. Welcome to our newest member, Miss Allison
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Who's Who - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 10-27-2008, 05:11 AM
Gold

Default Greetings from the Far East

I've been lurking around for a couple of months, so I thought I should finally introduce myself. I'm an American that's been living in Japan off and on for about 25 years. I'm a complete beginner at engraving with no background in Art of anykind. But, I have a great love for anything well made, particularly if it incorporates wood, ivory, or metal.

My only experience that is even remotely related is working as a mechanic and welder in Alaska 30+ years ago before I got into my current field of Engineering / Business Management.

I hand-made my first knife this summer with a little forging instruction from some of the friendly folks in the Japan Knifemakers Guild (JKG). That got me started looking harder at the wonderful knifes on display on the web, which of course led me to all the wonderful engraver's work.

Needless to say, I caught the bug and made myself a promise that I am going to learn engraving. I decided to dive in deep, and after a lot of research I bought a PC AirGraver. I just started to experiment with it last week and haven't done anything I wouldn't die of embarassement to show in public yet :smilie5: , but the quality and ease of use of the PC has already surpassed my expectations. Steve, you make a fine product. Thanks!