Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 14,732. Welcome to our newest member, Miss Allison
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Who's Who - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 01-31-2008, 09:18 PM
Copper

Default Hello from San Antonio

Hello everyone. I'm new to the forum and new to engraving. Just wanted to stop in and say hello. I really look forward to chatting with everyone and taking advantage of the wealth of knowledge represented here on the board.

As I mention, I'm new to engraving, just beginning to practice drawing scroll and chiseling some practice plates. I was very fortunate to have moved into my house almost 5 years ago. Shortly thereafter, I discovered that my neighbor was a long time engraver on somewhat of a hiatus. After many months of poking and prodding, I think I have bugged him enough to pick up the tools again, and help me learn a little about the craft. I don't think I could be more fortunate. My neighbor, Eddy Machu, apprenticed and worked (for quite some time) with the great Frank Hendricks, and Weldon's father, Mr. Bill Lister. What better resource/mentor could I have asked for So far I haven't been able to get enough. It sems that almost every spare second I have is consumed with reading about engraving tools, tips, tricks, etc... or doodling around with pencil and paper. There's just so much to learn, I can't get enough. Eddy is a traditional, hammer and graver type of engraver so I only have access to those types of tools but reading about all of the high tech, air powered tools, I wo