Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 14,732. Welcome to our newest member, Miss Allison
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Who's Who - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 05-26-2008, 06:23 PM
Copper

Default Inlay Sterling in Brass

First let me say hello to the group and I have been reading through the threads on what I want to learn or improve on. I have been doing push engraving for a few years now and have just purchased a Lindsay Classic PalmControl Air Graver and am totally in love. I am a jeweler by trade and have experience engraving on Gold, Sterling and Platinum but have never done inlaying before. I was recently asked to do a project that I hope can be done. I have found no guidance on any of the threads. I want to engrave some name plates with 48 degree slant script 3/4 " - 1 " high with silver inlay. Can anyone shed some light on how this might be accomplished? To practice I have 18 gage brass plates and plenty of sterling wire.
Old 05-27-2008, 09:11 AM
Platinum

Default Re: Inlay Sterling in Brass

Hmmm....

I haven't done much inlay so I can't answer your specific question about inlaying silver into brass but I can give some general pointers.

Just in case you're totally unfamiliar with the process, you cut a channel about 3/4 the size of the wire you're going to inlay, undercut the sides of it (making the bottom look like kind of like a 'W') and then use a slightly rounded rod in your handpiece to hammer the wire in.